Cricket

I was just throwing a tennis ball at a cone one day as I was just bored. I went down to my basement to get some cool, fresh, air. Afterward, I found a game that I played on my phone that you had to throw a ball at three sticks called a wicket. You also had to score runs. What I was doing down in the basement was playing cricket!

After I played cricket on my phone and knew the rules, I went down and tried it myself. When playing it in real life, the touch of the game felt perfect compared to other sports. Kind of like baseball, you are trying to hit a ball a bowler throws at you. After you hit it, you run towards a wicket, three sticks sticking from the ground. If you make it you score a run. You can also run back to the wicket you hit the ball at to score two runs. You can score multiple runs running after hitting the ball. There is a dotted line going from the field. If you hit the ball and the ball passes the dotted line,  you automatically score four runs. If the ball passes the line without bouncing, then six runs are scored. You are trying to score as many runs as you can. However, if the defense (the players trying to stop you from scoring runs) catches the ball, you are out, and it counts as a wicket. This is called that

However, if the defense (the players trying to stop you from scoring runs) catches the ball before it hits the floor, you are out, and it counts as a wicket. This is called that because if the bowler (the person that throws the ball at you) hits the wicket, you are out as well. The defense can get wickets by hitting the wicket before you can reach the wicket while running. Once the defense causes 10 wickets (in a professional game) to be counted, the defense gets to hit. If the defense fails to get ten wickets, here is another way that could end the defense’s drought of wickets: When you throw the ball six times, it counts as an over, no matter what happens. In a professional game, if the defense fails to get to 10 wickets, then the teams will switch when they reach 50 overs. This may happen when the defense is dreadful, or the offense is outstanding.

Now, today, my friends are coming over from my hometown. I hope to teach them how to play cricket. Cricket may be a bit hard to understand, but it sure is fun to play. Try it out yourself: you may be surprised at the strategy and teamwork needed in the game of cricket

 

Cricket

Leave a Reply

